Recent Cooking Attempts

Last week, I decided to put my new kitchen gadgets to the test and whip up some of the recipes I’ve been collecting of late.  There were definitely some hits (well, there was 1 hit) and misses.  I think it would be wise to only post the recipes for the hits…right?  But I’ll certainly tell the stories of the misses as well, because typically they’re pretty funny.

Hits:

The Best Macaroni Salad Ever (recipe coming up in the next post)

Near Hits:

Peanut Butter Cup Crack Brownies – I’m calling this a “near hit” because they did taste great, but they didn’t look very good.  Since I baked them to bring to work to thank my generous co-workers for the lovely bridal shower they threw for me (and of course to show off my mad kitchen skillz), I decided presentation trumped taste on this occasion.  But the Husb loved them and took them to his office instead.  Can’t wait to hear the feedback!

Million Dollar Spaghetti – this was actually pretty delicious, it was just SO heavy.  I guess that’s why it’s called Million Dollar, because it is super rich.  Anyway, it was good, it’s just not the type of food we eat on a regular basis at all.  We generally keep our meals fairly light, and this was the opposite of light.  It was good, for sure, it’s just not for us.

Misses:

Crock Pot Chicken Fajitas: this was an EPIC fail.  I was in a rush to find a crock pot fajita recipe, and basically printed off the first one I found.  I was wary of it from the beginning due to the list of completely bland ingredients.  But, whatever, I was in a hurry, and in my (admittedly limited) experience, anything you make in a crock pot turns out delicious.  Boy, was I wrong.  The fajitas were bland as expected, but the worst part was that the chicken was absolutely repulsive.  And that’s not the recipe’s fault.  I sent the Husb out for the grocery shopping, and he came home all proud of the “super cheap” chicken he was able to buy.  I was instantly suspect, but didn’t want to burst his bubble.  One bite of the fajitas and he declared the chicken “awfully rubbery” and came to the realization on his own that you shouldn’t buy cheap meat.  Lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

