Some Feedback (chocolate related)

So, if you read my post yesterday about the Peanut Butter Cup Crack Brownies, you’ll know I let the Husb take them to his office because while I deemed them delicious, they just weren’t up to par in the looks department for my office. Shallow, I know, but whatever. So, as I wrote yesterday, I was anxious for feedback from these complete stranger’s in Husb’s office. I didn’t have to be embarrassed that the brownie part and the peanut butter part weren’t exactly sticking together. As far as I’m concerned I was being judged on taste alone. And, let me tell you, the feedback was tremendously, overwhelmingly positive…full of quotes like “OH MY GOD” and “This is the best thing I’ve ever eaten” and “Holy Sh*t”.

So, what I originally classified as a “near hit” is now a “total hit”. I even realized that I had forgotten to line the pan with foil before baking, which might have resulted in the separation of the brownies. So, I’m definitely making these again soon, with the foil lined pan. And even if the brownies separate, the taste is so out of this world, apparently looks don’t matter! It’s one of those “beautiful on the inside” scenarios. Yeah, I don’t know anything about that either – I’ve only heard of such things. Kidding, Kidding, Kidding!!! So, without further ado, I present to you with their new name…drum roll please…CRACK BROWNIES.

CRACK BROWNIES (original recipe from BHG).

Ingredients:

1 box brownie mix (not family sized), prepared according to package directions in a 9×9 pan
1/2 cup honey roasted peanuts
12 peanut butter cups, chopped (not the mini Reese cups, get the regulation size ones, trust me)
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 Tbsp butter
1 heaping cup of creamy peanut butter (really closer to 1.25 cups)
1 3/4 cups Rise Krispies
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
Bake brownies according to package directions in a 9×9 pan lined with foil
During last 5 minutes of baking, remove from oven and sprinkle chopped peanut butter cups and chopped peanuts on top. Return to oven for remaining 5 minutes to melt the chocolate
As soon as you pull them out of the oven, spread the melty peanut butter cups/peanuts with a spatula to smooth over the top. Let brownies cool.
Next, in a microwave safe bowl, combine chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter. Heat in microwave for 1 minute, stirring when done. If needed, continue to heat in 20 second increments until chocolate chips are melted.
Stir in vanilla and cereal until evenly combined.
Pour over brownies and smooth. Chill until chocolate is set – about 2 hours.
Cut into squares and serve.
Makes 25 squares.

peanut butter crack brownies

2 thoughts on “Some Feedback (chocolate related)

Leave a Reply

