Recipe HIT – Chili

It may seem odd to people that I’d make chili in the summertime.  But, I love it and 1 pot will feed the Hubs and I for 3-4 days and it’s easy to bring to work for lunch.  Plus, my chili tastes pretty darn good, if I do say so myself.  I’ve made this before with ground turkey, and it’s equally delicious.  Make it now, thank me later.

Holly’s Chili (it’s fairly spicy – fyi)

chili

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds of lean ground beef or turkey
  • 1 yellow onion, rough chop
  • 2 teaspoons freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1 jar of Ragu (traditional, flavored with meat)
  • 1 8-oz jar of salsa (I like Chi-Chi’s Medium)
  • 4 tablespoons of chili powder
  • 1 15-oz can of spicy chili beans (get non-spicy ones if you want)
  • 1 15-oz can of dark red kidney beans
  • 1 can of corn (I actually use 2 cans b/c I worship corn)
  • Tabasco, to taste (use caution)
  • Red pepper flakes, to taste (use caution)

Directions:

  1. In a large frying pan, brown the beef with the onions until the beef is no longer pink and the onions are translucent.  Drain grease.
  2. Pour the meat/onions into a larger pot.  Add the tomato sauce, salsa, chili powder, black pepper, garlic salt, kidney beans, chili beans, and corn.  Mix well
  3. Slowly add in Tabasco and red pepper flakes – SLOWLY.  Get the chili to the spice level that floats your boat.
  4. Simmer on low for 1 hour.
  5. Eat for the next 3-4 days.
Leave a Reply

